How I Wash My Brushes

Washing makeup brushes is something that nobody likes to do and I find myself avoiding it for far too long!

Getting my brushes super clean was something that I used to struggle with.  I would follow tutorials that I would find online but none of them ever made my brushes super clean. That all changed when I found this technique!

This is a really affordable and reasonably quick way to wash your brushes! This makes my brushes look and feel brand new every time and I can wash all of my brushes in about 30 minutes!

What you will need:

  • Baby Shampoo
    • This is the one that I’ve found to be the most effective and it’s super cheap as well!

IMAG1937

  • Brush Egg or Brush Cleaning Mat

I use a Brush egg, this only cost me about $6 and I’ve had it for almost two years so it’s definitely worth purchasing a Brush Egg!

This is the one that I use: http://brushegg.bigcartel.com/product/brushegg,  there are heaps of different affordable brush eggs and mats on sites like Ebay and Aliexpress so its all up to what you prefer to use to clean your brushes

IMAG1940

How I wash my brushes:

Step One:

To start off I wet my brush under lukewarm running water for a few seconds until its saturated. You want to make sure that you don’t use hot water as the heat can slowly dissolve the glue in the barrel of the brush which will eventually lead to the bristles falling out.

IMAG1943

Step Two:

I then take some of the baby shampoo and pour it onto my brush egg.

IMAG1948

Step Three:

I then take my wet brush and gently buff it in circular motions on the brush egg. Once i have cleaned it in the buffing motion with the shampoo, I like to rinse the brush and repeat this step without shampoo under running water. This will rinse out all of the shampoo out of your brushes and ensure that there won’t be any excess product.

IMAG1951

Step Four:

Once I have repeated steps one to three for each of my brushes I move onto drying them and cleaning the handles. To dry my brushes I like to lay out a large towel on a flat surface and have a smaller towel to the side to dry my brushes on. I start off my taking a brush and very gently buffing the brush on the smaller towel. This gets rid of w lot of the water in the brush, meaning that they will dry faster. I repeat this step for all of my brushes and when finished

IMAG1970

I repeat this step for all of my brushes and when finished I like to clean the handles of my brushes with antibacterial wipes. This will get rid of all the makeup on the handles and also any germs or bacteria. This step is optional but if you’re putting a lot of effort into cleaning your brushes you might as well go all the way and ensure that they are as clean as they can be.

 

IMAG1969
What I use to clean my brush handles

 

Step Five:

The last thing that I do when I clean my brushes is to reshape them and lay them out flat to dry. Reshaping your brushes is basically moulding your brushes back into their original shape. This means that when they dry the brush hairs won’t be all over the place.

I then lay them all out to dry laying flat and I make sure that none of the brush heads are touching one another. I do this to make sure that each brush has enough space to be able to dry. I will then fold the towel up so that all of the brushes are laying flat but are completely covered. This makes the brushes dry fast naturally.

IMAG1971

I try to give my brushes enough time to dry before I need to use them again. I try to give them at least 14 or 15 hours to dry naturally so they are completely dry before I use them next. Most of my brushes don’t need this long to dry (my eye brushes are dry after about an hour) but I just want to ensure that my brushes have the chance to fully dry before I try to use them.

One of the most important things to do when drying your brushes is to ensure that none of your brushes are standing up. You don’t want any water getting into the barrel of the brush as the brush will become unglued so always ensure that your brushes are either laying flat or upside down whilst drying!

2 thoughts on “How I Wash My Brushes

Leave a Reply

